Icarus - 103845.6 to 103873.8

Delivered! solo journaling RPG series

This series is created using the Delivered! solo journaling RPG and I highly encourage you all to try it out! If you enjoy this please let me know and share it so that I can continue the series or possibly try out a new captain.

Body: 2, Wit: 2, Social: 2 | Dying to explore: +1 to Wit

Picking up the Parcel

2 of Spades - 10 days

A hard plastic crate about 5 ft x 7 ft x 5 ft with latches on all sides for a removable top secured with biometrics. It is marked for Panviri’s Thunov outpost to a Jarv Gorn, with a signature needed on delivery. The job is marked as a 10 day but with good solar winds it could be done in less for a bonus.

103845.6

[Event - 5 of Clovers, A sad childhood memory distracts you.]

Icarus Log, Captain Thyni Daro

Its weird how the simulations and tests don’t really prepare you for the first time you break thru the atmosphere and into space. The force was heavier then in training, it glued me to my seat and made the onboard computer have to autocorrect the chair and main yoke to be within reach. Trying to read and track all the displays was harder too as they all seemed to blur slightly with the pressure. But the biggest shock was the feeling right after. It was like I exhaled a breath I’d been holding for as long as I can remember. Looking back at Anyria it was like I could see back thru time, to a small farm near a landing pad run by Ibcania Deliveries. One where a small dirt smudged farm girl holding a make shift doll would run and try and keep up with the ships anytime they flew overhead on their way to pick up a delivery. To that same little farm girl trying to climb up as high as she possibly could to try and touch those same ships and falling out of a tree. My brother use to joke that all I got from our childhood was a broken arm and a dream of space, I guess he was right because look at me know.

[Body, rolled 3] The alarms blared as another ship came barreling towards me, jolting me out of the memory as I yank the yoke hard causing out to barrel roll out of the way. We spun wildly as a scraping sound screeched thru the ship causing us to spin faster. [Wit, rolled 3] Cursing a quick check on the systems told me I’d need to make some repairs to the gyrostabilizers when next I was planetside. That wasn’t going to stop me spinning now so I turned the system off and course corrected manually. This job was going to be touchy now as I needed to keep an eye on the read-outs and manually correct instead of relying on the systems for it.

+2 successes

103849

Even with the gyrostabilizers out of commission, I caught a bit of luck. There was a solar swell I was able to jump into which speeded along the journey very quickly. In addition, there was a stellar class catching the same swell so the captain of that vessel and I teamed up and were able to greatly increase both of our speeds by linking our ships for an additive effect. Ibcania Deliveries was so impressed not only did they give me the bonus but also gave me the remaining expected delivery time to explore as long as I made it to Neiruta for pick up by 103874.9!

103873.8

The fact that no one talks about the fact that THERE ARE LITERAL SPACE WHALES in the Ephus Nebula is truly mind-boggling. I had a lovely time exploring the jungle saunas of Zagrars at the nebula’s edge and going out to watch the whales swim [?] every morning. Also met some really interesting people who gave me some pointers for delivery quickly and a list of places I should check out next time I have free time.